Steering Group

The Steering Group of the SPHeRE Programme meets three times annually and has strategic representation from the eight HEIs involved with SPHeRE, key stakeholders drawn from health systems, charities and the public. The Steering Group has a view to generating broad-based support for SPHeRE, influencing and being influenced by priorities and strategic concerns in the health system and generating new funding possibilities.

A full list of our current Steering Group membership is as follows:


Prof Sarah Barry

SPHeRE Programme Director

Trinity College Dublin

Prof John Browne

SPHeRE Programme Co-Director

University College Cork


Dr Mary Clarke

SPHeRE Programme Co-Director

The Royal College of Surgeons in Ireland

Prof Kate Irving

Dublin City University

Prof Sinead McGilloway

Maynooth University

Prof Molly Byrne

NUI Galway

Prof Deirdre Hurley-Osing

University College Dublin

Dr Jon Salzberg

University of Limerick

Dr Máirín Ryan

HIQA – Health Information and Quality Authority

Dr Anne O’Farrell

HSE – Knowledge Management (incorporating Health Intelligence)

Dr Ana Terres

HSE – Head of Research and Development

Ms Margaret Moore

Health & Social Care Professionals Group

Mr Sean Murphy

General Manager, Letterkenny Hospital

Dr Derick Mitchell

CEO IPPOSI (Irish Platform for Patients Organisations, Science & Industry)

Dr Sarah Delaney

Research Officer HRCI (Health Research Charities Ireland)